Gut Reaction

images (11)My life has been like that of a soap opera of late; breakups, arguments, passion, love, tears, reunions and full of emotions, and that’s just in the space of a few days!

My gut instincts not only should be listened to but also questioned at times. How does the gut get involved with the hearts emotions? Surely it’s not any of it’s business. Why can’t they just get on with their own job and leave well enough alone?

Having an understanding of Irritable Bowel Syndrome and all it’s variables is helpful to a certain degree but only when it’s simple: eat something wrong equals pain and poop! But it’s when stress factors get involved and things get all churned up in my head, that my gut’s reaction is to do the same.That saying of, “Listen to your gut instincts” and “What does your gut tell you?” truly makes sense and mine is speaking volumes at the moment!

How on earth do I disconnect the two; the head and the body? Is there a magic formula out there for allowing myself to honour all these feeling and emotions without it travelling deeper into my body, because if there is, I’m in! Don’t get me wrong, I never want to eliminate the wonderful orchestra of emotions I feel on a daily basis, as they are a gift. I consider myself fortunate to be able to experience a vast range of emotions. It means I’m alive! No, eliminating those from my life would be no life. However, what I would like, is to eliminate the eliminating!

As I move through this next phase of my life, and believe me it’s a big one, I know it will come with stress (what move doesn’t?) It will all come down to how I handle the daily soap opera of my life. Remembering not to sweat the small stuff and allow things to move in the direction that they are meant to go, will be crucial to taking care of me. If I can be kind to myself and  remember to handle myself with care it might just be the key to handling this life with I.B.S.

Leave a Reply

