Jar of Thoughts

10882131_772099559546703_1323974745511520878_n  It’s New Year’s Eve and I’m all alone. The one night of the year when it seems that everyone and their brother is out partying in one form or another. My son said it seemed like everybody who lives in Guelph was in the liquor store stocking up for tonight. Sometimes I don’t understand the need to celebrate something with alcohol. Maybe I’m just getting too old for this stuff, or maybe it’s just because I’m not a drinker, who knows. Earlier I told my Mum that I would probably call a few friends to see what they were up to so that I had company for the night.  That was then, this is now!

Instead, I went out and  bought myself a DVD to watch. I stocked up on treats and left the store with a smile on my face. The cashier saw my purchases and said, “I think that looks like a very lovely way to spend New Year’s, with a movie and some hot chocolate. All I really want to do is go home and sit in front of the fire and curl up!” She had no idea that that was exactly my plan when she spoke those words. She said them as if there was something wrong with her, that just because she had changed her mind about going out to celebrate with her colleagues after work, that she wasn’t doing the right thing. I shared with her that in fact that was the very thing I was going home to do. She smiled and we continued to chat about allowing ourselves the pleasure of doing nothing in our oh so busy lives. After I finished paying she wished me a lovely evening and hoped I would enjoy my movie. I thanked her and smiled and went back out into the frigid air.

And so here I am. Alone. Thinking. Sometimes that is a dangerous past time as I can over think things in an instant. Tonight’s different. I’m sitting here smiling. The fire is looking lovely as the glow lights up the room, my tummy is full of hot chocolate and I’m just waiting till I’ve finished this blog before I put on my new DVD. It’s all good 🙂

We are all guilty of thinking negative thoughts at one point or another and probably have joined in a big ol’ moan fest at some time in our lives (some more than others and me included) but how many of us can say we truly sit back and appreciate moments in our day and enjoy reflecting upon the good?  There are good moments in every day, even if they are small, we just have to pay attention. I want to remember more of the good times and cherish the positive things in my life. The bad times exist and will always find a way into my thoughts but I don’t have to keep them there.

My jar is going to be filled with memories, big and small. It’s going to hold words spoken to me in kindness, moments that make me laugh out loud, beautiful scenery that has caught my attention and life’s every day gifts. I am going to fill that jar to overflowing in making 2015 a positive addition to my life. What will your jar hold?

Wishing you all a very Happy and Positively Wonderful New Year!

Leave a Reply

