Rescue

imagesI936D01C  We all know that not only do firefighters fight fires but they also rescue kittens stuck in a tree right? Although I have never seen that action taking place, without a doubt in my mind, I know that they are a group of amazing men and women who go out of their way to make things right.

I wrote about my personal experience with our first responders recently in my blog post ‘Falling For a Guy’. I will always remember those men comforting me while waiting for the ambulance crew to arrive. Their handsome faces, strong bodies and gentle reassuring voices in that long, dark night. I felt complete trust in them and I know my little friend felt that same trust yesterday when he too had to be rescued.

It actually isn’t so much about his rescue that will stay with me but the rescuing of the toy car! Yes it was their job to respond to the unusual 911 call placed. Yes they came with sirens blaring and lights flashing. They did their ‘job’ and un-lodged him from between the large boulders in the blink of an eye. But it was what they did next that touched my heart and put a smile on my face.

I know it put a smile on their faces too as they listened to the constant chattering of my little friend, who given a willing audience will talk their ear off. And these strong gentlemen listened. They all gave him their undivided attention and took the time to listen albeit with a quick knowing glance in my direction. Then all four of them proceeded to rescue the toy car. We stood back and watched their determination to reach the little dinky toy that had caused the commotion in the first place. They spent more time rescuing this toy car than the time spent removing the child. That’s what struck me the most. Not only did the child receive their undivided attention but so did the toy car!

They left a small boy happy as they backed out and drove away, toy car in hand, and a grown woman in awe of their dedication and compassion. You out did yourselves yesterday Guelph Firefighters. My hat is off to you.

Leave a Reply

